Ellen Cheever Award Application Period Now Open! – NKBA


Ellen Cheever Award Application Period Now Open!

Students can apply for the award that provides NKBA | KBIS educational resources free of charge.

Every year, NKBA | KBIS presents the Ellen Cheever Award to students pursuing a course of study related to the kitchen and bath industry. Many students are required to utilize NKBA | KBIS resources for their classes, and the Ellen Cheever Award helps provide these resources to deserving students free of charge. The application period is open from March 7 through May 3, 2024.

Recipients of this award will receive the following:

  • NKBA | KBIS Knowledge Base (1-year subscription)
  • Spiral bound version of the NKBA | KBIS Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines, 4th edition (Shipping and handling in the US & Canada)
  • Complimentary access to one NKBA | KBIS Specialty Badge credential of the student’s choice 

Who was Ellen Cheever? 

Ellen Cheever, CMKBD, ASID, CAPS, CLIPP, served as an influential member of the kitchen and bath industry for nearly 50 years. A longtime dedicated member of NKBA | KBIS, Cheever was renowned in the industry as a designer, author, educator and researcher. She taught countless designers and related other industry professionals to the art and science of kitchen and bath planning and design. NKBA | KBIS honors her memory with the Ellen Cheever Award.

Eligibility and Application Requirements

To be eligible, applicants must be an NKBA | KBIS student member enrolled at least part-time in school and have at least one semester remaining until graduation. Students should apply online by the deadline and upload all required materials. The application includes a required essay on the student’s future aspirations to work in the kitchen and bath industry, plans to pursue NKBA | KBIS certifications including badges, campus and community involvement and more. Additionally, students must upload a copy of their most recent transcript and list two faculty or professional references.

To apply for the Ellen Cheever Award, go here.